Sensitivity tags serve 2 functions. First, they let you categorize the teams and groups in your Microsoft environment based on their level of data sensitivity. Second, their security settings help keep your environment safe.
The security settings you select for a sensitivity tag will impact the team or group behaviors when that tag is applied.
Note: Your Microsoft external sharing setting, guest access setting, and sensitivity labels can impact your ability to use the ShareGate security and management features. For more information, see Sensitivity tag and/or security setting is invalid.
Sensitivity tag security settings
When you create sensitivity tags, you assign the combination of security settings that you feel best represent each tag.
A sensitivity tag consists of 3 security settings:
- Privacy - The privacy settings determine if a team or group can be accessed freely by your users (Public) or only accessed by approved members (Private).
- External sharing - Files and folders in teams and groups can be shared if you choose. The external sharing setting lets you decide how permissive you want the external sharing to be. You have the options: Only with people in your organization, with existing guests, with new and existing guests, with anyone.
- Guest access - Users often add guests (people from outside your organization) to their teams and groups for collaboration. You can decide if guests are allowed or now allowed.
For example, you can create a Highly Confidential tag with the security settings Private, Only with people in your organization, and Guests not allowed.
Impacts in your Microsoft environment
Security settings determine the actions owners are able to take in their teams and groups:
- Private - The privacy setting impacts the teams listed in the Join or create a team view. A team or group set to Private will not appear.
- External sharing - This security setting changes the content sharing permissions (step (3) of Share a document in this Microsoft article) available in teams and groups.
- Guest access - When guests are not allowed, the option You can also add people outside your organization as guests by typing their email address will not appear in Teams.