A team or group is considered inactive when ShareGate detects no activity across Outlook, SharePoint, and Teams.
Decide how long teams and groups can be inactive in your environment. Then, use ShareGate's inactivity management features so team and group owners can take action (i.e. keep, delete, or archive their inactive team or group) via email or ShareGate Teams chatbot notification.
The inactivity detection notification
Tip: To see what notifications look like to owners, check out Take action on inactivity. Share this article with team and group owners so they know what to expect.
From the inactivity detection notification, owners can decide to:
- Keep the team or group if they think its content is still relevant and will be consulted in the near future.
- Archive the team or group if they think there is no longer a need (e.g. the related project is completed).
Delete the team or group if they think there is no more need for the team or group, its files, and its folders.
Note: As an IT admin, you can restore a deleted team or group from your Microsoft 365 admin center up to 30 days after the owner has made their decision. This action is irreversible after 30 days.
The option to archive a team or group is only available to owners if you have set up an Azure storage account to store your data. If you have not yet set up storage, owners will only have the option to keep or delete inactive teams and groups.
When an owner selects Archive:
- The contents of the team or group are moved to the Azure storage of your choosing.
- The associated site collection and apps are deleted.
- You can access the team or group archive details from the Teams management module.
- Archived content can be downloaded or copied to a OneDrive for Business account.
- The team or group can be deleted.
- A full restore can be performed within 30 days.