When you use ShareGate's external sharing management features, owners can review and remove unnecessary guests and links to content that should no longer be shared externally, through your choice of email or the ShareGate Teams chatbot.
Tip: To see what notifications look like to owners, check out Take action on external sharing and guest access. Share the article with team and group owners so they know what to expect.
- Types of notifications
- Communication method
- What if the owner does not take action?
Types of notifications
You can send team and group owners 2 types of review notifications:
- Automated notifications - These notifications are automatically sent by ShareGate when a review needs to be completed, based on the External sharing review policy or sensitivity tags.
- Manual notifications - You can manually send a notification to any owner(s) at any time using the Ask owner(s) feature.
By default, policies and their automated notifications are set to off.
To send notifications, go to Policies and set up the External sharing review policy and/or sensitivity tags.
Ask owner(s) notifications
There are no prerequisites to send an Ask owner(s) notification.
ShareGate notifies all owners of a team or group.
An owner can only receive 1 review notification per day per sensitivity tag.
Notifications are sent as soon as necessary. ShareGate automatically sends a notification based on the start date and review recurrence you have set for the External sharing review policy or for a sensitivity tag.
A notification is sent manually as soon as you use the Ask owner(s) feature.
The communication method you select will be used for every review feature (i.e., Ask owner(s), the External sharing review policy, and review notifications for sensitivity tags).
Choose your communication preference when you automate the External sharing review policy. Once you have set up your policy, you can update your communication method at any time.
If you have not yet activated the External sharing review policy, ShareGate will prompt you to select a communication method the first time you use the Ask owner(s) feature.
The default email sender is email@example.com. Change the email sender in the Settings so owners will know who the email is coming from and that it is not spam. The email sender account name will appear in the email body of the notification.
Customize email sent to owners
When you choose Email, the option Customize email sent to owners appears. In the template, select Click here to add a personalized message to add a custom note.
For an example of the email and chatbot notifications sent to owners, check out the article Take action on external sharing and guest access - Examples. Share the article with owners so they know what to expect.
Do not disturb list
It's possible to add specific users to a Do not disturb list to prevent them from being sent notifications.
What if the owner does not take action?
An owner has 14 days total to respond to the notification. If an owner does not respond to the first notification, a reminder is sent after 7 days. For security, there is an expiration of 7 days for review notifications.
If an owner does not answer, the shared links and guests remain in your environment until you manually take action, until the next scheduled review, or until you send an Ask owner(s) notification.
External sharing links and guests will not be removed unless that action is explicitly taken.
Tip: Monitor the status of your reviews from the Dashboard, Manage page, and through status emails. Use the collaboration status to keep track of your Ask owner(s) notifications.