As a team or group owner, you might receive an email* or ShareGate Teams chatbot notification if your team or group is inactive.
This notification is sent because your IT admin uses ShareGate to detect inactive teams and groups.
For more clarification, check out the article Why am I receiving a team or group inactivity detection notification?
- How-to take action
- How long does the process last?
- What happens if there is more than 1 owner?
How-to take action
Your IT admin has the option to create an Inactivity detection policy and set custom inactivity thresholds for purpose tags.
When you receive the email or ShareGate Teams chatbot notification, the notification includes:
- The name of the inactive team or group.
- The number of days the team or group has been inactive.
- A choice to keep, delete, or archive the team or group.
Note: The option to Archive your inactive team or group will only appear if your IT admin has set up a storage account. If they have not yet set up storage, your options will be Keep or Delete.
The Inactivity detection policy
Select the action you want to take for the team or group.
- Keep the team or group if you think its content is still relevant.
- Delete the team or group if you think the team or group and its contents are no longer needed. Your IT admin can restore a team or group up to 30 days after it was deleted in their Microsoft 365 admin center. This action is irreversible after 30 days.
- Archive the team or group if you think there is no more need for it. Your IT admin will be able to retrieve all the files and folders at a later date.
You'll receive a confirmation that the action was successful.
Your IT admin will receive notice that you've completed the task!
A custom threshold for a purpose tag
With purpose tags, your IT admin can understand the business purpose of teams and groups at a glance and apply the right policies.
The process to take action on a team or group that has become inactive based on the custom threshold set for a purpose tag is the same as the default process.
For more information on choosing purpose tags for your teams and groups, check out the article Take action on purpose and sensitivity.
Examples of the notifications you might receive from our chatbot or in your inbox:
How long does the process last?
You have 14 days from the day the first notification is sent to take action on team or group inactivity. The first notification is sent when the team or group crosses the inactivity threshold, followed by a reminder 7 days later if no action is taken.
For security purposes, the links expire after 7 days.
What happens if there is more than 1 owner?
The review exists on a first-come, first-served basis. If an owner takes action on an inactive team or group, the other owners will be informed.
If you think you or another owner made a mistake, contact your IT team so they can make the right changes.