As a team or group owner, you might receive a ShareGate Teams chatbot notification asking you to apply a purpose tag and/or sensitivity tag when you create a new team or group.
This notification is sent because your IT admin uses ShareGate to help keep your organization organized based on business purpose (purpose tags) and data sensitivity (sensitivity tags).
- How-to take action
- How long does the process last?
- What happens if there is more than 1 owner?
How-to take action
When you receive a ShareGate Teams chatbot notification, it will include the name of the team or group and a list of tag options.
Select the tag that you feel best represents what you type of work you'll be doing with your team or group.
- Purpose tags show your IT admin what you think the intended business purpose of your team or groups is.
- Sensitivity tags show your IT admin how sensitive the team or group information and data is---and helps them know what security settings to apply.
You'll receive a confirmation that the action was successful and your IT admin will receive notice that you've completed the task!
Examples of the chatbot notifications you may receive for purpose or sensitivity:
How long does the process last?
You have 14 days from the day the first notification is sent to answer the chatbot. The first notification is sent when you create your team or group, followed by a reminder email after 7 days.
What happens if there is more than 1 owner?
These notifications exist on a first-come, first-served basis. If an owner applies a purpose tag or sensitivity tag to a team or group, the other owners will be informed.
If you think you or another owner made a mistake, contact your IT team so they can make the right changes.